Relax & Remind Yourself:)

December is the word love wrapped in a box with a red bow around it. I was thinking last night about the month of December and how the whole month feels like a gift. I found myself yesterday getting so wrapped up in what gifts to get others that I felt overwhelmed/stressed. I like to put a lot of thought into a gift and I love the feeling of seeing someone super excited about what they just opened. But is this what the season is really about? Is it really worth getting stressed out about? I would never want someone to feel any stress over a gift they were getting me, so why do we stress out so much? I think it’s because we feel the need to always action things that we forget to live in the moment. This season is about enjoying the moment while drinking eggnog by the fire or laughing with friends. The gift of being a supportive friend, a good partner, or making someones day is the gift that people never forget. I look back on this year and I don’t think about the dresses I bought, but I think about the people who make this city my home. I know we all are shopping and we’re so busy in one of the busiest times of the year, but just take a moment to breathe. Breathe in the cool air, and think about what you are thankful for. Who can you thank this Christmas for helping you this year or touching your life? Who creates you to be a better person? Whose honest with you when you need it most? The gift of love is so much stronger than gifts under the tree. I remember watching the little kids in Peru playing with rocks and dirt while laughing all together. I thought it was crazy that they could be so happy with nothing to play with, but they had each other and that was all they needed.

Xoxo

Leave a Reply

