How Are You?

How are you? When I ask you this question what do you answer? We all ask this question every day numerous times, but a part of me wonders why we bother at times. I know we all have good intentions when we ask it but what are we expecting to really hear? I am guilty of answering good almost every time and I think most of us are. I was serving a couple of women the other day and one of the ladies at the table answered that she wasn’t great. I was surprised, taken off-guard, and didn’t really know what to say. What if we were just all honest? Just said what we actually were feeling to complete strangers? We have no reason to hide what we are feeling and having a bad day is normal. It’s like sharing how we actually feel is rude or too honest for society. I had never even thought about this until the other day, but I would love to just actually know how someone’s day was. I love honesty and I think society needs to work on it. I think when we are honest with each other we feel so much more comfortable to share with one another. I don’t mean we need to go open our feelings up to complete strangers but just be honest about how we feel that day. I am going to try it this week and see what happens. I think everyone should try to be honest when someone asks and see what comes out of it. I wonder what people’s reactions will be! Honesty always surprises you, and who knows what you will discover.

Xoxo

Leave a Reply

